The Francis Collection – Dick Francis

The Francis Collection – Dick Francis

196,00 lei


SKU: el316845 Categories: , Tag: Brands: .

Product Description

Four fantastic thrillers from the Sunday Times bestselling father-and-son partnership Dick and Felix Francis – masters of mystery intrigue and all things deadly in the racing world. Over the last forty years this duo have collectively created almost fifty titles including most recently Crossfire Bloodline Gamble and Refusal. Crossfire Captain Thomas Forsyth’s tour of Afghanistan is cut brutally short when he is badly wounded by a roadside bomb. Returning home to his mother – a racehorse trainer and the ‘First Lady’ of racing – Tom discovers the training business is on the edge and facing a threat far more dangerous than a run of bad form. Tom finds himself on a very different but just as deadly battlefield where his military skills are tested . . . kill or be killed? From Felix Francis and Dick Francis the bestselling co-authors of Dead Heat and Even Money comes Crossfire the latest Dick Francis novel. Packed with all the hair-raising suspense and excitement readers know and love from Dick Francis Crossfire is the most dazzling yet. Bloodline When Mark Shillingford commentates on a race in which his twin sister Clare an accomplished and successful jockey comes in third he can’t help but be suspicious. As a professional race-caller he knows she should have won. Did she lose on purpose? Was the race fixed? Why on earth would she do something so out of character? That night Mark confronts Clare with his suspicions but she storms off after an explosive argument. It’s the last time Mark sees her alive. Hours later Clare jumps to her death from the balcony of a London hotel . . . or so it seems. Devastated by her death and almost overcome with guilt Mark goes in search of answers. What led Clare to take her own life? Or was it not suicide at all . . .? Felix Francis is the younger son of thriller-writing legend Dick Francis with whom he co-wrote the four most recent Dick Francis Novels Dead Heat Silks Even Money and Crossfire with Felix taking an increasingly greater role in the writing. Sadly Dick died in February 2010 but his work will live on through Felix. Gamble was Felix’s first solo Dick Francis Novel. Gamble Nick Foxton once won the Grand National but a terrible accident cut his racing career short. Years later he is returning to Aintree – as a spectator – when he once more finds himself the centre of attention. Minutes before the big race Nick’s colleague financial adviser Herb Kovak is shot dead and the gunman vanishes into the crowd. The police want answers but Nick can’t explain why anyone would want Herb dead. Yet when he finds a threatening message crumpled in Herb’s coat Nick begins questioning all he knows about his friend. And on learning that he is the benefactor of Herb’s will Nick is certain that something is not right. A fact confirmed when Nick discovers he’s next in the killer’s firing line. From Felix Francis the bestselling co-author (with Dick Francis) of Dead Heat and Even Money comes Gamble the latest Dick Francis novel. Set in the cut-throat world of horse racing Gamble is an enthralling thriller packed full of suspense mystery and intrigue. Packed with all the hair-raising suspense and excitement readers know and love from Dick Francis Gamble is Felix Francis’s most heart-pounding thriller yet. Refusal When Sir Richard Stewart chair of the horse racing authority demands ex-investigator Sid Halley examines some suspicious races he is given a firm no. Sid retired six years ago – and nothing will make him go back. But he’s wrong. Next day Sir Richard is found dead. Then Sid’s six-year-old daughter goes missing and he receives an anonymous call: declare the alleged race-fixing clean or else. With his family in danger how can Sid refuse? But this anonymous foe has underestimated the guile and determination of Sid Halley. Extreme situations demand extreme solutions and Sid will do anything to get his life back or die trying.